BIRMINGHAM & DISTRICT PREMIER CRICKET LEAGUE

ANNUAL REPORT SEASON 2020

24th November 2020

The 2020 season will go down in history as one of the most challenging and difficult in the history of BDPCL.

Covid-19 not only jeopardised the 2020 UK season but also the game on a global basis and continues to cast a shadow over the 2021 season.

Indeed, the early ECB indications, during the initial lockdown period, suggested that it was highly unlikely that there would be any competitive League cricket played in the 2020 season.

As we approached the start of the season, and during the lockdown period, a number of virtual meetings took place with member clubs to keep everyone up to speed with developments and seek their views on how we should react to any of these developments as they presented themselves.

Thankfully, the season did commence, albeit late, allowing only half of the season's fixtures to take place.

Once it became clear that cricket would commence, member clubs agreed to play for the Graham Williamson Trophy, played on a regional basis and consisting of four geographical regions, encompassing sides from both divisions and thus conforming to the in-force travel guidance issued by both UK Government and the ECB.

The winners of each of the Regional Leagues progressed to a semi-final and ultimately the final of the Graham Williamson Trophy, played at Moseley CC on the 27th September 2020.

All these games were required to conform to ECB playing guidance protocols and the decision was that a match format of 40 overs per innings on a win or lose basis, using red balls, was most appropriate.

Other playing requirements but not comprehensive included –

Non-use of changing rooms.

Bring your own teas and refreshments

Ball sanitising

Social distancing

Whilst we did encounter some minor breaches of this guidance, these were minimal and corrected quickly.

Please note that the League's Management Board were disappointed that they were unable to honour their commitment to playing some white ball format cricket in 2020.

The Management Board's thanks go to every participating club for their diligence and compliance with the Covid-19 regulations and requirements during the season.

Unfortunately, and inevitably, four games were cancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions, but I am pleased to report that 119 games were completed successfully.

Graham Williamson Trophy

My congratulations go to the four winners of the Regional Groups, Shifnal CC, West Bromwich Dartmouth CC, Berkswell CC and the eventual winners Barnt Green CC who beat West Bromwich Dartmouth CC to retain the trophy in a competitive final.

President's Day

Not undertaken in 2020

Disciplinary

Importantly and very pleasingly, almost, all the games were played in an excellent spirit with only two disciplinary reports submitted during the season. Each case was resolved, internally, by the clubs concerned without the need for any further disciplinary intervention from the League.

I would remind everyone that we should continue to maintain a strong focus on limiting disciplinary issues. To that effect, at the commencement of the 2021 season, Officers of all League clubs will again be required to sign a declaration to the effect that the club will comply with the Spirit of Cricket in all respects and I, once again, urge all officials and players to recognise their obligations in these matters.

Annual Awards

The following annual playing and officiating awards have been confirmed by the Cricket and Umpires Sub-Committees:

Banks's Trophy for Player of the Year: Omar Ali (West Bromwich Dartmouth CC)

Albert Birkenhead Trophy for the

Young Player of the Year: Ben Chapman-Lilley (Barnt Green CC)

Banks's Trophy for the Umpire of the Year: David Gower

President and President Elect

Elected as League President in 2019, Godfrey Lamb kindly extended his term to include 2020. On behalf of everyone connected with BDPCL, I would like to thank Godfrey for his advice, his support and his commitment over the course of his tenure.

I am pleased to announce that Bill Smith has agreed to become President and Ian Stokes has agreed to become President-Elect for 2021.

Vote of Thanks

I would like to place on record my thanks to the members of the Management Board, for their hard work and commitment during the last, challenging, 12 months.

The Chairs and members of the various sub-committees for all the hard work and dedication they have shown over the last year, allowing the League to communicate, create and operate efficiently a new format, meet our regulatory obligations and support the member clubs throughout the course of 2020.

My thanks to Moseley CC for hosting the 2020 final and to both Wolverhampton CC and Barnt Green CC for offering themselves as stand by venues if needed.

The League's financial matters have been managed efficiently by Andrew Biggs and the end of year accounts have been independently reported on, for a second year, by Jonathan Cousins. I thank them both for their efforts.

I would also like to thank the League Representatives, Captains and Chairs of each club for attending and participating in meetings through 2020. You should be very proud of your roles in getting the game on and meeting the challenging and changing playing regulations in 2020.

As always, it is imperative that we continue as a League to engage with all stakeholders. To support this activity, we will be hosting our second member clubs' Chairs meeting and third successive Captains' meeting, early in 2021.

My personal thanks to Nick Archer, General Manager of BDPCL, for his guidance, absolute commitment to our League, support to myself, the members of the Management Board and all stakeholder clubs, helping to guide us all through all of the cricket related challenges presented by Covid-19 in 2020.

Finally, I would like place on record my personal thanks to all the umpires and scorers who stood or scored in games in 2020. Without you and your commitment, we would not have been able to play and enjoy BDPCL cricket in 2020. It was gratifying to note that all 119 games played under the auspices of BDPCL in 2020 were covered by two umpires and the League is indebted to the Appointments Secretary Jonathan Cousins and his assistant Alan Seville for the hard work they put in to achieving this goal!

David Manning Chair